Tesla appoints new chair to replace Elon Musk

The company has appointed Robyn Denholm.

Tesla appointed Robyn Denholm (pictured), a director at the company since 2014, to be chair of the board, immediately replacing Elon Musk.

Elon, who has held the board chair position since leading the first round of Tesla’s funding 14 years ago, was mandated to leave his role as part of a settlement with the US Securities and Exchange Commission following his tweets in August on taking the company private.

Robyn will also be leaving her role as CFO and head of strategy at Telstra, Australia's largest telecommunications company, to focus on her work as Tesla chair full-time, the company said in a statement.

To ensure a smooth transition during the remainder of Robyn’s time at Telstra, Elon will be a resource to Robyn and provide any support that she requests in her role as chair, Tesla said in a statement released on Wednesday evening.

Robyn has served on the Tesla Board as an independent director since 2014. Her global experience in both Australia and Silicon Valley encompasses leadership roles across a range of technology companies, including Telstra, Juniper Networks, and Sun Microsystems.

She is widely credited with leading a team that drove significant increases in Juniper’s revenues, overseeing Juniper’s corporate transformation during her nine-year tenure as Chief Financial and Operations Officer. Her experience also includes numerous finance management roles in the automotive industry while at Toyota.

“I believe in this company, I believe in its mission and I look forward to helping Elon and the Tesla team achieve sustainable profitability and drive long-term shareholder value,” Robyn said in a statement.

“Robyn has extensive experience in both the tech and auto industries, and she has made significant contributions as a Tesla Board member over the past four years in helping us become a profitable company,” said Elon. “I look forward to working even more closely with Robyn as we continue accelerating the advent of sustainable energy.”